Who We Are
The American Educational Studies Association (AESA) was established in 1968 as an international learned society for students, teachers, research scholars, and administrators who are interested in the foundations of education. AESA is a society primarily comprised of college and university professors who teach and research in the field of education utilizing one or more of the liberal arts disciplines of philosophy, history, politics, sociology, anthropology, or economics as well as comparative/international and cultural studies. The purpose of social foundations study is to bring intellectual resources derived from these areas to bear in developing interpretive, normative, and critical perspectives on education, both inside of and outside of schools.

What We Do
The role of AESA is to provide a cross-disciplinary forum wherein scholars gather to exchange and debate ideas generated from the above mentioned areas. This cross-disciplinary commitment of the organization creates a landscape for the discussion of broader policy issues such as minority studies, gender studies, multicultural education, democracy, and issues of educational equality and equity. Our membership is dedicated to examining issues in education from a plurality of academic viewpoints and perspectives.



Yolanda (Jolie) Medina

Borough of Manhattan Community College / City University of New York


Vice President
Vice President

Susan Laird

University of Oklahoma

Sandra Spickard Prettyman

University of Akron
President Elect
President Elect / Program Chair

Denise Taliafiero-Baszile

Miami University

John Petrovic

University of Alabama
Past President
Past President

Cris Mayo

University of Illinois
at Urbana-Champaign

Executive Council

Michael Jennings
University of Texas, San Antonio (2017)
Pamela Konkol
Concordia University, Chicago (2017)
Cheryl Matias
University of Colorado, Denver (2017)
Daniella Cook, Ph.D.
The University of South Carolina (2016)
Kurt Stemhagen, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University (2016)
Theodorea Berry, Ph.D.
The University of Texas at San Antonio (2016)
Margarita Machado-Casas
The University of Texas at San Antonio (2015)
Kristal Moore Clemons
Florida A&M University (2015)
Ty-Ron Douglas
University of Missouri (2015)


Editors-In-Chief, Educational Studies

Roland Sintos Coloma, Miami University, Ohio, USA
Stephanie L. Daza, Manchester Metropolitan University, UK
Jeong-eun Rhee, Long Island University-Post, NY, USA
Binaya Subedi, The Ohio State University, USA
Sharon Subreenduth, Bowling Green State University, Ohio, USA

Communications Director
Richard Kahn, Antioch University Los Angeles

Convention Site Coordinator
Sandra Spickard Prettyman, University of Akron

Book Exhibit Co-Coordinator
Julie Carter, St. John's University

Patricia Carter, Georgia State University

Rick Lakes, Georgia State University

Critics Choice Book Award, Chair
Jason Goulah, Depaul University

Graduate Student Coordinator
Marta Sanchez, UNC Wilmington

CASA Chair
Amy Swain, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Graduate Student Information


Contact Information

General Information and Membership
John Petrovic, Secretary

Editors-In-Chief, Educational Studies

Roland Sintos Coloma, Miami University, Ohio, USA
Stephanie L. Daza, Manchester Metropolitan University, UK
Jeong-eun Rhee, Long Island University-Post, NY, USA
Binaya Subedi, The Ohio State University, USA
Sharon Subreenduth, Bowling Green State University, Ohio, USA

Listserv & Web Site
Richard Kahn,
Communications Director

Critics Choice Award
Erin Castro, Award Committee Co-Chair
or Bettina Love, Award Committee Co-Chair

AESA Conference Book Exhibits
Julie Carter
or Hillary Lochte


Constitution and Bylaws


Annual Meeting Minutes

The following are downloadable PDFs:
Fall 2014 Executive Council Meetings
Fall 2013 Business Meeting
Fall 2013 Executive Council Meetings
Spring 2013 Executive Council Meeting
Fall 2012 Business Meeting
Fall 2012 Executive Council Meetings
Spring 2012 Executive Council Meeting
Fall 2011 Business Meetings
Fall 2011 Executive Council Meeting
Spring 2011 Executive Council Meeting
Fall 2010 Business Meeting
Fall 2010 Executive Council Meetings
Spring 2010 Executive Council Meetings
Fall 2009 Business Meeting
Fall 2009 Executive Council Meetings
Spring 2009 Executive Council Meeting
Fall 2008 Business Meeting
Fall 2008 Executive Council Meetings
Spring 2008 Executive Council Meeting
Fall 2007 Business Meeting
Fall 2007 Executive Council Meetings
Spring 2007 Executive Council Meeting

Lectures, Keynotes, and Transcripts

R. Freeman Butts Lecturers 1974-2013
Kneller Lecturers 2001-2014

Annual Treasurer’s Reports

2013 October Estimated Treasurer's Report
2012 Treasurer's Report
2011 Treasurer's Report
2009 Treasurer's Report
2008 Treasurer's Report

AESA Past Presidents List


AESA Archives Finding Guide

Finding Guide December 1997
Finding Guide Update October 2010

Standards for Academic and Professional Instruction in Foundations of Education, Educational Studies, and Educational Policy Studies, Third Edition, 2012

Draft Presented to the Educational Community by the American Educational Studies Association's Committee on Academic Standards and Accreditation

The Archives are Housed at:

Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library

100 Decatur Street, SE
Georgia State University
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archive@gsu.edu

The Latest Supplement to R. Freeman
Butts' papers on deposit in the Hanna
Collection on the Role of Education in
Society are housed at:

The Archives of the Hoover Institution, Stanford University
800 Welch Road
Palo Alto, CA 94304-1607
Phone: (650) 723-3563



Online Resources

Pay Membership Fees Online
The membership page is under reconstruction until March 1, 2015. In the meantime, if you have questions about membership, please contact the AESA Secretary at petrovic@bamaed.ua.edu.

Information for Contacting Elected Officials

Information for Contacting Newspapers

Affiliate Links
American Anthropology Assn.: Council on Anthropology and Education
American Association of University Professors
American Educational Research Association
Comparative and International Education Society
Council of Social Foundations of Education
History of Education Society
The John Dewey Society
The National Society for the Study of Education
Philosophy of Education Society
Sociology of Education Section (American Sociological Association)

Resource Links
International Association of Intercultural Education (IAIE)
American Federation of Teachers
"America Strikes Back": Critical Media Literacy in Times of War
An Open Directory site dedicated to philosophy of education
Bibliography of the History of American Education
Book Smarts
Center for Anti-Oppressive Education
The Center of Educational Pluralism
Democracy and Education
Educational Policy Analysis Archives
Geroge Yonge
Hannah Arend
The Journal of Educational Controversy
Journal of Educational Foundations
The Journal of Latinos and Education
Multicultural Pavilion
National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education
National Latino Education Network
The New York Collective of Radical Educators
Rethinking Schools: An Urban Education Resource
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization
U.S. Department of Education
The W. E. B. Du Bois Institute for Afro-American Research
William James