American Educational Studies Association Executive Council Meeting Wednesday March 26, 2008 8:00am – Noon New York City

Welcome and Introductions

President Susan Franzosa facilitated the meeting. Members introduced themselves. Members/Guests present: Deron Boyles, Pat Carter, Cathryn Chappell, Paula Groves Price, Kathy Hytten, Hilton Kelly, Daniel Liou, Michael Luzenhauser, , Andrew McKnight, Jolie Medina, Stacy Otto, Susan Schramm Pate, Sandra Spickard Prettyman, Lisa Weems

Review of Minutes

Oct 25, 2007 – Lisa Weems motioned to approve, Sandra Spickard Prettyman seconded. By unanimous vote, minutes approved.

Oct 27, 2007 – Deron Boyles motioned to approve, Stacy Otto seconded. By unanimous vote, minutes approved.

Oct 28, 2007 – Stacy Otto motioned to approve, Jolie Medina seconded. By unanimous vote, minutes approved.

Treasurer's Report

Sandra Spickard updated her transition into the position. She detailed the current accounts with recommendations for possible combinations. Addressed still missing royalty check for Educational Studies from Taylor and Francis. June 2008 will begin contract negotiations with T&F.

The issue of bonding the treasurer was discussed. Deron Boyles moved to defer decision until fall after information is gathered. Lisa Weems seconded. By unanimous vote, motion approved. It was also mentioned that all members of the executive committee, according to the bylaws, are to be indemnified and bonded.

Executive committee endorsed that Treasurer is doing the job well.

Secretary's Report

Cathryn Chappell presented partially complete data on membership and conference attendance. This will be complete and emailed to Committee asap. Secretary's report will be condensed from original format. Issues of grad students available to work at registration were discussed. Ways to make information available before and at conference were discussed.

All present agreed that Duties Lists for each position need to be created/updated by those currently serving for ease of future transitions.

Secretary will send list of Graduate Students to Hilton Kelly.

Program Chair

Kathy Hytten informed us that the submission system is now online. Each submission will receive 2 reviews and feedback will be shared with applicants. Kneller and Butts committees have forwarded recommendations to Executive Committee. The list was discussed and approved as follows:

Kneller – Barbara Stengel

Butts – Gloria Ladsen-Billings, Michele Fine, Eduardo Silva

Call for papers needs to be more widely dispersed. Cathryn Chappell and Philip Kovacs will update the listserv and all members were encouraged to distribute to as many organizations as possible. Members should send list to those notified to Kathy Hytten.

Site Coordinator

Sandra Spickard Prettyman updated the current locales:

2008 Savannah Georgia

2009 Pittsburgh Omni William Penn

2010 Seattle, Washington

2011 Milwaukee, Wisconsin

2012 San Diego

Requested ideas for locations for 2013 and 2014

Historian

Pat Carter reported that no new data has been received. There were 2 requests for data in the past year. Susan Franzosa will send several documents.

Graduate Student Coordinator

Hilton Kelly discussed ways of defraying student costs, mentorship dinner, onsite interviews, a social, and ways to increase attendance. It was suggested that a \$5 contribution box be included on registration form. A job board and area were suggested.

Ed Theory

Nick Burbules discussed ways to make Ed Theory and the accompanying online journals more visible and viable. He was interested in someday transitioning from an "opt-in" model to an "opt-out" model. He outlined the surplus of funds for Ed Theory and highlighted several options including going from 4 to 6 issues per year. The 5th issue may be a special issue, and the 6th based on an Ed Theory fellowship summer collective project. Ideas included an in-residence program and international scholars.

Old Business

1. Conference Guide – each person/officer should complete a draft by October including Grad Student Coordinator, Program Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, Executive Board member.

- 2. SIGS topic discussed at length but tabled until fall meeting. Need rationale/proposals. What is AESA's responsibility? Recognition? Guaranteed Space at conference? Put it back out to the membership? Kathy Hytten will do wording and 2 proposals will be drafted by Sandra Spickard Prettyman, Lisa Weems, and Mike Luzenhauser.
- 3. Critics Choice Lisa Weems. Job duties need to be added to bylaws. Chair member of executive council. Criteria need no be established for nomination to the committee. It was recommended by council to take to general membership. Lisa's draft was accepted as a work in progress 100% with some recommended changes.
- 4. Book Exhibit Approved Julie Carter and Hillary Lochte as new co-coordinators. Kathy Hytten moved, Deron Boyles seconded.

5. Nominating Committees

Teller Committee – Electronic balloting? Annual Meeting? Combination Changes in bylaws approved 100%. Deron Boyles motion, Mike Luzenhauser seconded.

List:

Lisa Scott

Aimee Adkins

Dennis Carlson

Philip Kovacs

Jolie Medina

Sue Ellen Henry

Carolyn White

Mary Nick Hollowell

Pam Bettis

Natalie Adams

Meeting was adjourned at 12 noon. Minutes respectfully submitted by Cathryn Chappell.